dragon adventures 4x4

Cooktown & Lions Den - 2 Day Tour

DURATION – 2 DAY / 1 NIGHT:

This 4WD Adventure offers a mixture of coastal tracks and beaches, inland mountain trails, waterfalls, river swimming holes in the Daintree Rainforest and camping in swags under the stars. Experience all of this whilst staying next to the historic Lions Den, one of Cape York’s iconic pubs that also accommodate excellent riverside camping with plenty of shade and natural surrounds.

DAY 1:

You will depart Port Douglas at 7-00am, continuing onwards to the Daintree River Cable Ferry crossing, which is the Gateway to the UNESCO World Heritage Listed Daintree Rainforest. We then drive to Cape Kimberly beach for a stroll on pristine sands, where you can soak up the awesome views of the nearby Low Isles and Snapper Island, which form part of the Great Barrier Reef.

From here, we travel further north to Cape Tribulation National Park. We stop here for light refreshments and have the time to take a walk in the Daintree Rainforest and or on the beach.

From this point onward we are on the Bloomfield Track (off-road). Here you will experience numerous creek crossings, steep inclines and rugged terrain, which ensures that you really are on the adventure of a lifetime. On this section of the route we will stop off for a swim (optional) in one of the numerous creeks, before we make our way to Bloomfield Falls.

From here we head to the historic Lions Den Hotel. It was built in 1875 and is a landmark hotel made of timber and iron, famous for its quirky decorations and walls adorned with visitor’s signatures. The Lions Den Hotel is built on the banks of the Little Anna River, surrounded by 100 year old mango trees and tropical landscapes. You will have the time to go for a swim in the creek and partake in some light refreshments at the bar, then settle down for an evening meal.

Camp: We stay overnight at the Lions Den.

DAY 2:

The following morning it’s up for a camp breakfast, and off to Cooktown. You have the opportunity to spend the morning visiting the James Cook Museum and have a leisurely stroll around this little historic town. A short drive to Grassy Hill lookout for some amazing views over the Coral Sea is a sight you cannot afford to miss. Midday we then start our journey back to Port Douglas via the Tablelands route, depending on the season and road conditions.

The Tablelands route consists of a climb into the McDowell Range, which is where the track becomes unrelentingly steep with many ascents, descents.

We will be stopping at numerous spectacular sites on the tour, where photo opportunities of the fauna and flora of the region are in abundance.

We arrive back at Port Douglas approximately 5-00pm.

TOUR INCLUSIONS:

  • Freshwater creek swimming holes
  • Tablelands Route
  • Lions Den Hotel (overnight camping)
  • Cooktown
  • Bloomfield Falls
  • Tea/coffee
  • Drinking water is available at all times
  • Breakfast, lunch & dinner
  • Camping Fees
  • National Park Fees
PRICE: $1,449 per person

TOUR DATES:

  • Monday 14th May - Tuesday 15th May

  • Friday 18th May - Saturday 19th May

  • Monday 21st May - Tuesday 22nd May

  • Friday 25th May - Saturday 26th May

  • Monday 28th May - Tuesday 29th May

  • Monday 3rd December - Tuesday 4th December

  • Friday 7th December - Saturday 8th December

  • Monday 10th December - Tuesday 11th December

  • Friday 14th December - Saturday 15th December

  • Monday 17th December - Tuesday 18th December